In Her Shadow

Louise Douglas has written four books and is currently working on her fifth. Her first two, Missing You and The Love of My Life, were published by Pan Macmillan before she moved to Transworld in 2010. Her third book, The Secrets Between Us, was published in 2012 and In Her Shadow is out now in paperback.

Book CoverWhat would you do if your past
came back to haunt you?

Before Ellen, things were easier and less complicated. They were either good or bad, right or wrong, black or white and I understood the difference. Since Ellen, everything has been coloured in shades of grey.

It's set twenty years ago against a backdrop of dreamy Cornish summers, a place where childhood friendship becomes young love, where love becomes obsession, and where obsession ultimately ends in betrayal and a tragic death.

This magical novel traces a web of memories back through the years from the present day, ultimately showing that no matter how much you might try to forget the past, the past never forgets you...

Read an extract
Buy a copy

Book CoverCan you trust the one you love?

A chance encounter: When Sarah meets dark, brooding Alex, she grasps his offer of a new life miles away from her own. They've both recently escaped broken relationships, and need to start again. Why not do it together?

A perfect life: But when Sarah gets to the tiny village of Burrington Stoke, something doesn't add up. Alex's beautiful wife Genevieve was charming, talented, and adored by all who knew her. And apparently, she and Alex had a successful marriage complete with a gorgeous son, Jamie. Why would Genevieve walk out on her perfect life? And why has no one heard from her since she did so?

A web of lies: Genevieve's family and all her friends think that Alex knows more about her disappearance than he's letting on. But Sarah's fallen in love with him and just knows he couldn't have anything to hide. Or could he?

The Secrets Between Us has been selected for Richard and Judy’s Summer Book Club 2012!

Read an extract
Buy a copy

Book Cover“I miss him with every breath and heartbeat. He should have been my happy ending. Instead, he is the sad beginning to my story.”

Olivia knew she could never love anyone like she’d loved Luca. He was everything to her, her whole world, and now he’d gone. They had grown up together in a bleak, northern seaside town, where his family ran Marinella’s restaurant and, when they eloped to London, his mother never forgave Olivia for taking him away.

As she begins to try and come to terms with Luca’s death, Olivia realises that she has to return to Watersford where he is buried. It is in a chance meeting with his twin brother, Marc, that she realises his loss is almost as painful as her own. Their desolation leads them to follow a path which has no future, and which will prove to have devastating consequences for the entire family.

The Love of My Life is a stunning novel that beautifully portrays the innocence of childhood and the dynamics of love and loss.

“Sad and lovely. I’m now having trouble finding a book good enough to fill the very deep hole she’s left,” - Milly Johnson, author of The Yorkshire Pudding Club.

"Before I started writing this story, I didn’t know the title, or the names of most of the characters, or where it was going to be set, or how it was going to end. I knew two things though: I wanted the book to be an intense and honest love story, and although I wanted readers to empathise with her, I didn’t want my main character, Olivia, to be a conventionally ‘good’ heroine.

"By the time I’d finished, the book’s title was The Moth’s Kiss which looks fine on paper only is impossible to say aloud without lisping. It was Imogen who came up with the perfect name for the novel."

Read an extract
Buy a copy

Book Cover

This is another love story, set in the beautiful city of Bath, which is about ten miles from where Louise lives. The main character, Fen, is guarding a terrible secret. She’s so afraid of the past that she can not live a full life, and dare not risk getting close to anyone. Sean has just found out that everything he believed in was built on a lie. Their quiet friendship slowly builds into something much deeper, but just as they find happiness, it looks as if the past will tear them apart.

It was published in 2010.


Glastonbury 2008, which was the inspiration for the story for the second book.

"After a disastrous first attempt at a second novel, I picked up something I’d started earlier. It was originally going to be the story of how a man befriended a young Eastern European and became a mentor to him, and then fell in love with his sister, only times have changed since I started it and better writers than me have covered similar ground.

"So I went back to something more straightforward and ended up with a love story that’s set in Bath and which takes place over the course of a year.

"I enjoyed almost every moment of the writing – I hope it shows!"

Read an extract
Buy a copy